Rigid Wrap and CelluClay Quik-Sculpting Kit From ACTÍVA Products (A Review)

Reviewing

Rigid Wrap and CelluClay Quik-Sculpting Kit

From

ACTÍVA Products

 

 

 

Today, I will be reviewing, Rigid Wrap and CelluClay Quik-Sculpting Kit from ACTÍVA Products. 

In the boxWhat is inside? The  Rigid Wrap and CelluClay Quik-Sculpting Kit comes with two packages of the Rigid Wrap, an 8oz bag of CelluClay, and two photocopied sheets containing the Ridid Wrap general instructions and instructions for 12 projects.

Down side, upon first inspection, the CelluClay is full of holes, leaked all over everything. It all is powdery and gritty as a result.

CelluClay hole

can you read these

Also, I was a bit surprised by the photocopied sheets. They were virtually impossible to read. Thankfully, we also received an eBook,  ACTÍVA Products’ Favorite Sculpture KIDS CRAFTS, which is available to the public with the project ideas.  The eBook contains no instructions for the Rigid Wrap or the CelluClay either, however it suggests visiting their website for more information and help.

I could not manage to find the CelluClay instructions anywhere. Thankfully, Google was my aid, and I found this; https://youtu.be/2G0_oh1sRzA

 

Kira was quite excited to begin.  We craft a LOT in my home. As an artist,  crafting was the first thing I used to bond with my daughter.  I remember finger painting with her before she could fully walk. Thankfully, Kira seems to love crafting too! We have never used a plaster-coated gauze type product. We previously have used molding clay or Sculpey. The idea of creating and not having to bake was quite appealing to me! I let Kira read over the project ideas and decide what she wanted to do.

Kira loved the butterfly idea, however, she was not impressed with the template on the box. Instead, Kira decided to make her own.  I placed wax paper on a table for her to work at. I already knew by the condition the celluclay had left the box in that this would be messy. I cannot even imagine doing this with a child under the age of 10. Mind you, I am an OCD neat freak.

beginning

We had both the photocopied instructions and the ebook on hand as we began.

Kira really enjoyed the fact that I let her do EVERYTHING herself. I wanted her to fully learn how to pay attention to instructions!

Per the instructions, drying time depends on thickness and environment. Kira only made two thin layers. After 4-5 hours it was finally dry…or so we thought.  There were no instructions of what to do with the excess around the edges! Kira tried to cut them.  This was DISASTEROUS. Her beautiful work began to rip and tear!

Poor Kira was quite upset.  Now I knew she had not fully followed the instructions, but I was not saying a word.  This was a lesson for her.  Kira loves to assume and think she knows everything some times.  I will ask her something, and before I am even finished asking, she will assume the question and answer. Usually, she is not answering what I was amidst asking at all. The byproduct of being smart is also assuming you know more than what you actually know. I felt that  Rigid Wrap and CelluClay Quik-Sculpting Kit from ACTÍVA Products would be a wonderful way for Kira to learn to pace and pay attention and STOP assuming. 

So it was back to the drawing board.  Kira had to start all over again. Her template was ruined too.  Having learned her first try was failure, this time around, Kira reread the general instructions for the Rigid Wrap.  Low and behold, she did not do a weave/opposite pattern between her layers.  Kira had laid each layer identical!

This time around, knowing about the edges, we decided she could fold them over the template.  Not exactly ideal, but it worked!

Kira was extremely happy! This time we let it dry over night, just in case.  (For faster drying, there is an option to microwave or use oven. However, as I wanted to keep this as child friendly as possible, we opted to use the air-dry method. ) The next morning, it was fully dry! Kira decided to do a little scrunching to make the face and body. Once it fully dried, she applied acrylic paint.  Kira seemed a bit miffed that the paint seemed to soak in, even though she was not using water. I would suggest using a primer before painting your craft, just in case. We used level 3 acrylics which are thicker than normal. I was surprised to see it soak this paint up.  Three coats, and poor Kira still saw white spots!

Final Product!

I asked Kira for her honest opinion of Rigid Wrap and CelluClay Quik-Sculpting Kit from ACTÍVA Products.  She said, “It is a LOT of fun to use and I love how you do not have to bake it like Sculpey, because that takes forever.  However, there are disadvantages, although it is easy to use, it is quite messy and takes time to dry”.

Bare in mind, we have only done this one small project.  I have plans for us to make several more, which I of course will share with you all once they are completed.  When I watched the video (link above), I envisioned all the amazing crafts I can create. I personally have never used this type of a product and I absolutely love it. It is a wonderful way for kids to have messy fun! As always, with any project that requires scissors, I highly recommend an adult supervise. The box boasts that it is safe and non-toxic. An extra plus! The eBook ideas are absolutely wonderful. Kira has already picked out several she would like to try.

I have a special mask idea in mind for the upcoming Dia De Los Muertos. I absolutely love the drape molding idea and believe I can make a wonderful mask using a paper plate template! I also am trying to mentally sort a way to create a dragon and a fairy in a full 3D form.  Once completed I will post these.

Kira and I both highly recommend Rigid Wrap and CelluClay Quik-Sculpting Kit from ACTÍVA Products. 

 

 

 

Social Media Links:

Disclaimer HomeSchool Review Crew

One thought on “Rigid Wrap and CelluClay Quik-Sculpting Kit From ACTÍVA Products (A Review)

  1. Thank you for your honest review of our product! We are so sorry the CelluClay bag had holes in it. We would have gladly replaced that for you! We are very glad you had fun with the products in the end, and we think Kira’s butterfly is beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

