When Work Calls…

Have you ever heard of illustrator’s block? Well, evidently it does exist. And I had it.  Now, normally, this would not be a big issue, as I tend to always work ahead of pace and schedule. However, this time is was causing problems. I am already behind on the book I have been illustrating.  When I say behind, I mean MONTHS behind. Between eye surgery and my boss throwing whammies at me non stop, I managed to fall drastically behind on everything.

As I absolutely adore this author, I was gutted.  I was doing everything I could to seek inspiration.  Even the Magic Kingdom seemed to fall short of vanquishing the dreaded block. I decided, in an effort to save time, to start formatting the book.  You may or may not know, I do it all.  I illustrate, edit, format and create all social marketing for the books I do with Fox Tots….that is on top of running Fox Tots as the chief illustrator and C.O.O.

This was it! Formatting was just what I had needed to do.  I was stuck at illustration number 23.  A typical book will contain at least 32. As I began adding the text to my drawings, it was as if a light bulb went off.  Suddenly I felt inspired.  More so than when I even began first illustrating. Now I am excited again and cannot wait to complete this project!

formatting books
A look into the formatting of My Trip To The Library. Written by Barbara Poor
Leave a Reply

