High School Essay Intensive From Institute for Excellence in Writing (A Review)

Reviewing

High School Essay Intensive From

Institute for Excellence in Writing

 

 

High school writing can be overwhelming with preparing for SAT and college applications. I was excited to receive High School Essay Intensive from Institute for Excellence in Writing for my daughter.

Today I am reviewing High School Essay Intensive from Institute for Excellence in Writing.

 

By now, if you avidly ready any of my  blog,  you may realize that my daughter loves to read. What you may not know, however, is that Kira LOVES to write.  This passion began early on with Kira.  I have totes full of her stories.  I remember at the tender age of 6, Kira writing cute stories.  She also illustrated the stories at that time, which was an extra special treat! Now, at the tender age of only 13, Kira has 3 books, (not published yet, of course) and has several that are unfinished. Her imagination is simply unmatched. I remember when she was very little, watching her play with her toys, creating multiple voices, and adaptive story lines to coincide. Honestly, this child has talent. I am biased, I am sure, as her mother. Nonetheless, I am always impressed by her imagination and story making skills.

Kira has always excelled in Language arts. Spelling, well, spelling is not her strongest suit. Her writing style also lacked somewhat.  We were both extremely excited to receive  High School Essay Intensive from Institute for Excellence in Writing.  Kira seemed a bit miffed when she first opened the box.  No doubt, she was expecting a book to read.  I swear, this child loves to read anything.  So when she saw the beautifully encased 5 DVD set, she was visibly disappointed. Immediately, she focused on the paperwork inside.  It was something she could read! Her frown instantly revealed a smile. She quickly unwrapped the printed materials and began to read.  Perhaps my little one might come around to actually enjoying watching a DVD and learning!

Much to her surprise, Kira found the DVD’s enjoyable! From the humorous instructor to the surprising elements therein, and the student responses, Kira was HOOKED! I absolutely loved hearing her giggle along with the other students as she watched the DVDs!

Prior to the lessons, I asked Kira to write a couple of paragraphs.  I wanted to have a comparison to show how she was able to display what she was learning.

This was her preliminary writing, prior to using  High School Essay Intensive from Institute for Excellence in Writing;

A Day at the Beach

 

                The sounds of waves crashing upon the rocky shore and seagulls flying overhead surround me. The ground is grainy and rough beneath me, but the water is cold against my bare feet. A refreshing breeze brings relief from the heat and with it the sharp, tangy smell of salt.

                I feel at peace, in harmony with nature, here. I could sit upon these rocks and watch the tide change and waves roll all day, watch the clouds move through the sky and birds circle overhead, and be content. I love the beach.

 

Once she had completed several lessons, I asked her to please rewrite her paragraphs, but this time, I asked that she apply what she learned from High School Essay Intensive from Institute for Excellence in Writing;

 

A Day at the Beach

 

 

                The sights and sounds of the beach surround me. Crashing upon the rocks, the waves roar as if lions. Loudly, but not too annoying, the seagulls squawk overhead. Beneath me, the sand is hot and grainy, but the lapping water is cool against my bare feet. A refreshing sea breeze brings the sharp smell of salt. It is a beautiful day on the water, and I have lost myself in the sensations of the shore.

                In this calming place, I could stay forever. Sitting upon these rocks, watching the waves roll and the tides change, I would never leave. The beach is another world, where peace reigns and war is not known. Upon this rocky shore, I am at home.

 

I am sure, as the reader, you notice a drastic difference. I was absolutely thrilled by the results. The TRIAC method works.  I kept hearing Kira repeat this along with the DVDs and she actually memorized it.

High School Essay Intensive from Institute for Excellence in Writing is simply wonderful.  Whether your home school student is preparing for the ACT, SAT, or simply wants to further their general understandings for essay writing.  Kira and I highly recommend this fun Seminar and Handout set.

 

 

Social Media Links:
Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/excellenceinwriting
YouTube:  https://www.youtube.com/iewtv
Twitter:  https://twitter.com/iew  @IEW
Pinterest:  https://www.pinterest.com/iewriting/

 

Disclaimer HomeSchool Review Crew

Leave a Reply

