Life As An Illustrator

Happy March!!!!!!!!!!

Well, normally I would be posting all the art I have been working on…However since I have been back to work post surgery, I have been quite busy.

Once again there were name changes….this resulting in me having to create yet even more new logos. Oh what fun……

I think I am burned out on the constant rebranding.  How many name changes does it take?

Anywho, so doing new logos and mascots has kept me busy and from the actual important work. With this new branding/logo I had to also edit former ads and animations.  I absolutely love having to edit 16+ layers of an animation and not get paid a penny more to do so.  Do you detect my sarcasm?  The rebranding has taken time away from the real work as I previously stated.  What is this real work?

Why illustrating of course!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I am BEYOND excited to be working once again with the incredibly talented Barbara Poor!!! After our previous work together, The Girl With The Curly Red Hair, I am extremely excited to work with her once again!

I am up to 16 preliminary sketches for our next book! Although all the authors I have been blessed to work with are wonderful, I must say Barbara is the easiest to please! I have had zero revisions or redo’s for her to date! Any illustrator will tell you that is beyond rare! Barbara’s talent is unmatched, as is her kindness. You can learn more about Barbara by visiting her website here; http://www.joyofchildrensbooks.com/ To see more of my illustration work please visit: http://www.alysathena.com/

I am also busy creating relevant ads for all previously published books via FoxTots, which I am now fully in charge of.  Because I need more to do yet not be paid more….again denote the sarcasm.

 

//giphy.com/embed/l0IyfbLBdpzfBK1jy

I love making animations, unless of course I am remaking 16+ layers because rebranding (and not being paid more for this) is an ever occurring issue!

I also have had the pleasure of FINALLY receiving a digital proof of a book I submitted the art for last summer. I am extremely excited to see this project done. It seems there has been one delay after the other on it.  I never realized when I signed this contract that only I was given a submission deadline! Lesson learned and henceforth I will not be given a deadline unless all parties have one.  I have done unsurmountable hours of illustration work, which at the moment  is all completely unpaid.  The digital proof thankfully only had  minor errors which I assume shall be fixed forthwith, as again it has been quite a while in the making.

Leave a Reply

