Ammolite Visions

ammolite visions

In creating this piece I actually had an entirely different layout envisioned.  The dragon was not supposed to resemble a gargoyle and his wings were to be flat at his side.  As I do not like using references, the wings became a battle.  No matter how I created them…they looked off. I finally gave in and expanded his wings instead.  This then caused the entire background landscape to change as it essentially became hidden. I am not satisfied with the head/wing ratio. Had I drawn it to the scale I would like there would be no background at all.  I could have reduced the size of the dragon himself…hindsight is always 20/20. As I am amidst illustrating several books, my free time to draw is limited.  Within as much, Ammolite Visions shall remain as is.

Leave a Reply

