Cape Florida Lighthouse

 

 

cape florida

 

Perhaps my fondest memories of growing up in Miami are of Key Biscayne.

Cape Florida Lighthouse inspired this digital painting.  I was using a new (for me) brush available from the Sketchclub app called procedural bristle.  It has a blending feature similar to organic painting.  Although honestly, nothing compares to the smell of oils or acrylics.  And certainly nothing feels quite like an organic paint brush dipped in paint brushing across the canvas.  Nonetheless, this digital option was close at mimicking the strokes. I over smudged the rocks in the foreground and almost tossed the piece completely. I could have used the undo, but as I was going for a close to organic experience I opted to not touch the undo a single time during the process.

I have recently acquired a new app that boasts a truer paint feel….I will perhaps revisit my Miami memories to create another piece…..

Leave a Reply

